Options

PMP.....

eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
I completed the documentation for the experience requirements, training, and audit in March of this year. Once I was approved (way back in March), I scheduled the PMP exam for April 30th (today).

I studied off and on for the exam from March until recently. My primary study tools were:

The PMBOK - http://www.amazon.com/Guide-Project-Management-Knowledge-Guides/dp/193069945X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1209590080&sr=8-1

Rita Mulcahy's Exam Prep Book - http://store.rmcproject.com/Detail.bok?no=42

and Rita Mulcahy's PM FASTrack - http://store.rmcproject.com/Detail.bok?no=43

When I initially scheduled the exam, I wasn't really thinking about GTA IV being released this week, and how that might affect my ability to take the test. On Monday of this week I investigated rescheduling the exam. Although I was doing well with the practice material, I thought that my performance might suffer. When I checked on Monday I found out it was too late to reschedule, and that I would forfeit the $555 registration fee if I didn't take it as scheduled....

I'm so glad that I didn't reschedule it, because I Passed! No score was given, other than an indication that I am "Proficient" in all areas covered.

IMO....

This was among the easiest exams that I have ever taken. For me the ISO/IEC 20000 Consultant Exam was a 12 on a scale of 1 to 10, ITIL Manager was a 9 and my undergraduate animal behavior class exams were 10's. Against this scale the PMP was a 5...much easier than 70-290 and probably easier than Security+.

Multiple choice exams are not normally a cakewalk for me, even when I know the material very well. My scores tend to be no higher than 80%. For example, I failed both ITIL Practitioner certifications that I hold once before retaking and passing. Essay is more my style.