Configuring VPN on Catalyst 2948G -L3 Switch

annointed3annointed3 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I need help in a configuring a vpn on a Catalyst 2948G-L3 Switch.I'm not studying for the CCNA, but I figured this question may help the folks that are studying for the CCNA. I have no prior Cisco experience. I am able to access the switch console, but I'm having problems creating a vpn. What I would like to do is configure 2 vpn's that will allow me to have to seperate networks that can communicate to each other. I would like to configure these vpn's by port. I will plug 1 hub into port 4 and will have network 1, and then I will plug another hub into port 40 and have network 2. I need to have the ability to transfer data between both networks.

Below are some of the commands that I've tried:

Cat2948G-L3>
Cat2948G-L3>en
Password:
Password:
Cat2948G-L3#show vlan

No Virtual LANs configured.

Cat2948G-L3#config t
Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
Cat2948G-L3(config)#vlan 0004
^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

Cat2948G-L3(config)#

Again I'm just started to learn about Cisco. We have a switch here in our lab, and I'm trying to learn how to use it.Thanks in advance for you help.

Comments

• MiekMiek Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi,

you can find lots of information on the cisco site.
    This may help you:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps672/products_tech_note09186a0080093f8f.shtml

Greetz ;)

Miek
  • rossonieri#1rossonieri#1 Member Posts: 799 ■■■□□□□□□□
    i am sorry... but did i miss something here, like vpn on a switch?? or vlan on a switch?? for me vpn is rras and vlan is your switch ports... am i wrong here?? have you create the vlan database ?? do you have the ip and subnet correct?? how about your vtp domain - is it set??
    the More I know, that is more and More I dont know.
  • viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□