Is mcdst going to be out of date soon?

george.cgeorge.c Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Im new to the microsoft exams and wondered if I should skip the Mcdst exams and start on to the mcitp exams is this a good move? Just wondered how long will xp be around for?
Hacking the MainFrame's

Comments

• SieSie Member Posts: 1,195
    XP / 2003 will be around for a good while yet, whilst there is some early adopters of Vista and will be of 2008 it will be a while before these become mainstream.

Microsoft currently has no plans to retire the MCSA 2003 or the MCSE 2003 and I dont see them doing it for some time if at all.

From the MS Site:
    The MCDST credential will not retire with the release of Windows Vista certifications; it will continue to be supported by Microsoft and valued by employers and decision makers who use Microsoft Windows XP.

What track to follow really depends on what you currently do / are aiming for.

Do whats relevant to your current work and what future work you want to know, MCDST is a for Helpdesk Technicians. Also after you pass this you can always take the 70-621 upgrade exam to become a MCITP: Enterprise Support Technician if thats the path you choose.

So really depends what your job is, what your working with (XP/Vista) and what you have the most experience with :D
    Foolproof systems don't take into account the ingenuity of fools
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Like sie says, the 2003 platform will still be supported for a few years at least yet. i would go for the mcsa/mcse 2003 track if i were you. if you do, i would do the vista exam instead of the xp so it will be a viable option if you wanted to upgrade to 2008.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • bleScreenedbleScreened Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
    george.c wrote: