CISM

2»

Comments

• lopezcolopezco Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I did my CISSP in January 13th, CISA in June and now took CISM last Saturday.

I consider the CISSP as my hardest exam I have taken, the CISA was a bit easier and this one I think was very close to the difficulty of the CISSP.
    Some of others who took both found this one harder.

I studied from ISACA's materials (CRM and Questions and Answers Database 2007) which I understand are very important. The format in the practice questions is similar to the exam even some (very few) questions might appear.

I read the CRM in 3 months (I am a very slow reader, also I took it easy) only once, and got questions and answers database 3 weeks before the exam.

I have notice sometimes you can gain confidence which might be dangerous. I prepared extremely well for my CISSP, after that for CISA was a bit hard but not too much, for this exam I had too much confidence and I did not studied that much (very bad).

Regarding to the exam, it was balanced with most of the questions oriented to management but also there were enough technical (patch, virus, IDS, firewalls and so on). I was surprise not finding cryptography related questions and physical security.

I found there were many questions which were asked several times but in different ways.
    Must of the questions had two choices very similar (as other tests) where I had to pick one of them.

I am not sure if passed.
    I think it was a fair exam, is not something you can get easy and if I pass, my previous preparations (CISSP and CISA) were very helpful.
    DAL
    "If you reveal your secrets to the wind, you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees." — Kahlil Gibran
    I forgot to add the physic part of the test.
    After 100 questions and more of two hours it becomes harder and harder to read and analyze.
    The first 15 questions where so hard for me That i left 8 for reviewing, but later the following questions became more familiar.