Options

A+ noob

perosperos Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am looking for some help finding good information on A+. I have the Myers book and am using the Test-out software, but I am completely new to computers. I started studying for my A+ in January and still can not manage to pass the tests. I have been a nurse for the last 13 years so this is a big change for me. I love what I am learning, but when I think I have the info down it all must just run out of my ears at night when I sleep. At least I have figured out how to open up mail attachments. I am grateful for any help you might have.
I have very good support at home. My boyfriend tries to help but he has worked with it so long he may as well be from a different planet. He gives great answers, but I still have trouble following because I have to search for half the words he uses and then I miss the rest of what he has said. He has worked in the field for the last 10+ years and in the last year and a half has become certified in A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, iNet+, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, and CISSP. I know that I missed a few other certs in there, but you get the idea. I keep telling myself that I am taking way to long to get this done. I seem to hold myself to the progress I saw him make. I realize there is a huge learning curve, but I am begining to feel rather dense.
I just need some basic help to get this stuff to stick. I am not grasping a lot of the stuff that the authors expect you to know. I just don't have the experience.
Having worked with stress and life or death situations should have prepared me for almost anything, yet it took me two hours to figure out how to get around in a forum for the first time. I was so frustrated I almost sent the computer sailing across the room.
Thanks for all your help.

Comments

• Options
    M4verickM4verick Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□