Network Technician

RacingSnailRacingSnail Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I would like to become a (paid) Network Technician. Currently, I have some college, but wasn´t able to finish before I had to move. There are some problems with my foreign transcripts, so I don´t know when I can go back to finish here in the US. Fun to fix things from an ocean away. icon_rolleyes.gif

In the meantime, I have a couple of years of IT experience abroad and started volunteering about 7 months ago at a local non-profit as a PC/Network Technician to get some US references and work experience. That has been going great so far, but obviously can´t live on nothing forever.

I just recently got my A+ and am going to get my N+ in the next few weeks. I am thinking about doing the following next: Security+, MCSA, Linux+, MCSE. Does that look OK? I also wonder if it would be worthwhile to do Server+? Feedback is most welcome!
WIP: AAS Computer Information Technology (May 2010)
70-620 (July 2009)
70-290 (Aug 2009)
Linux+ (Oct 2009)
Security+ (Dec 2009)

Comments

• nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    Hey there, looks like you have a pretty solid plan for your future, definitely keep on volunteering/looking for paid work, Net+ Sec+ Linux+ MCSA/MCSE are all great goals for you to achieve and will definitely open some doors for you.

Good luck!
    WIP: IPS exam
  • gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think you have a great plan with volunteering! You cert path looks good as well. If you find you really like the networking stuff you would probably go with Cisco rather than Microsoft, but if you have the time and desire both are great because their technologies are used in just about every production network.