What type of job should i be realistically looking for

ShimamiShimami Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I don't have much IT experience. I completed my education at a technical school. I currently only have about 6/7 months of help desk experience. (i work as a 1st level help desk analyst at a small company that provides telephone support to different company's). I have my A+ and my Net+.

Realistically, am i doomed to work help desk phone support for a another year or two until i gain the experience most employers desire?

i am desperate to find something more satisfying.

Comments

• ULWizULWiz Member Posts: 722
    Personally in my opinion you should be able to land some type of Help Desk Job with minimun administrative tasks. Should be somewhere in the 13 to 20 dollar a hour range. Since you dont have to much experience i personally believe this is what your going to be in the range of.

I guess i should have read your post a little better. It takes time to advance in the IT field. Keep pushing away at the helpdesk job and start looking for more rewarding career. Getting your MCSE or CCNA is going to help you the most in landing a better job

This is just my personal opinion. Good luck with the job search.
    CompTIA A+ Nov 25, 1997
    CompTIA Network+ March 7, 2008
    MCTS Vista 620 June 14, 2008
    MCP Server 290 Nov 15, 2008
    MCP Server 291 In Progress (Exam 12/28/09)
    Cisco CCENT In Progress
    MCP Server 291 In Progress
    C|EH In Progress
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    What are you wanting to work in? Figure that out first. Then work on building a certification path for that position. While experience is king the certifications can still get you in the door to demonstrate your skills and knowledge. Always work on sharpening your skills and make sure your resume reflects that. There is never any harm in looking around at other jobs. The worst they can say is no.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/