MCSA vs CCNA

I'm currently enrolled in the MCSA program at a school. I passed A+ and now I'm taking Network+. Should I finish out the MCSA program or just switch to CCNA? Which gets paid more? What's better to chase, Cisco or Microsoft? icon_evil.gif

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Its all about what you want to do with your career. If you want to be a Microsoft admin then go on with the MCSA and you can do the CCNA later. The CCNA is always a great certification to have regardless of your specialization in IT, but if you plan on getting a help desk job (if you are not already employed) and working up to a system admin role I would drive on with the Microsoft certifications.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • hustlin_moe20hustlin_moe20 Member Posts: 225
    well what kind of job does the ccna certified person do? im new to IT and dont have a job yet.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    As a CCNA, you'll be working with routing and switching equipment. As an MCSA, you'll be working with Windows servers and desktops. Depending on which end of the spectrum you want to work on - networking or systems administration - that's the path you choose. A good idea is to get some experience with both. After you're done with MCSA/MCSE, go for CCNA, or vice-versa.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Well, look at the certification....

Cisco Certified Network Associate

Microsoft Certified System Administrator

CCNA is geared towards Cisco gear and the MCSA is geared towards Microsoft gear. I'm guessing you know the difference? If not, Cisco = networks and Microsoft = systems. That is a broad discription, but you get the jist right?