Security+ Exam: No Experience

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
edited July 2019 in Security+
Hi,

What's the level of difficulty of the Security+ exam?
Is it harder than Network+ ?

I have NEVER taken A+ or Network+ exam. However, I have taken many courses in University related to Business and IT related courses.

I have no industry experience. But I'm willing to buy a Security+ textbook and spend 1 year reading the book and take the exam next year.

I just don't know where to start. And I don't think A+ or Network+ is worth taking.

Any advice or suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The A+ might help you land an entry-level job, but it's not going to help you with the Security+. You should have a decent handle on basic networking concepts, so if you're a bit shaky on those you might want to pick up a Network+ book, even if you don't want to take the actual exam.

The Security+ has a higher passing score than the Linux+, A+, or Network+, so I guess that increase the difficultly a bit. The real difficultly stems from the breadth of the material. You're going to be learning about a lot of different things. However, I didn't feel like any of the items were really difficult themselves.

You could probably knock this out in a few months if you wanted to. I spent a month on mine. This book should get you started. That's a relatively cheap download directly from them, but you can also get a hard copy from Amazon or other bookstore.
  • laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
    Thanks for the response.
    I should probably take Network+ before I pursue the Security+ exam. :D
  • sir_creamy_sir_creamy_ Inactive Imported Users Posts: 298
    As a general rule, never spend more than 1 month studying for a CompTIA "exam".

You should have minimal difficulty with Security+ if you've taken university-level courses.
    Bachelor of Computer Science

[Forum moderators are my friends]