Where to next?

ahstanahstan Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello TechExams.net,

I'm a front end developer for an NYC specialized social networking company. I do not have any degree or certifications and I am completely self-taught. I got this job strictly by impressing the CEO on-the-spot, not through credentials, experience or education. I'm 18 years old, I've been interested and engaged in front end development since age 11. I have experimented with some back end programming and even graphic design. Graphic design is not my preference, but I would like to get into programming.

My pay is quite a bit below average from what some other IT professionals have told me. But, due to my circumstances, I am pretty happy with the job. I'm 18 and working from home, and I'm only committed to 4 hours / day mon-fri - beyond that is optional. I get a paycheck every two weeks. It's a pretty easy and fun setup, giving me time to learn the ropes, industry and business practices. Plus, it avoids any transportation issues, as I do not have a car. On top of this, it's great experience and will look wonderful in my portfolio upon completion. So, what is the catch? $10 / hour.

I'm here to find out what you all think of the position I've taken on and held for a couple of months, as described above and find out what I should be looking forward to and working towards.

I would like to either do high-end web development or software development. All I currently am completely proficient in is XHTML/CSS with a strong focus on web standards, accessibility, usability and optimization. I was thinking of moving towards PHP, but I'm not sure if it is the best step or not. Also, should I get certified? If so, what track? Back to college? (I'm a college dropout)

I need some guidance on my path of choice, any help would be appreciated.

Kind regards,
Alex Stanford

Comments

• janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    First, welcome to the forums!