Is it worth going back to get a Degree

jediknightjediknight Member Posts: 113
Hello,

I know this has been discussed may times more or less, but I'm looking for some serious advice from others here.

I have reached a point in my IT career where I feel I have enough experience and a good amount of certification where I can try and advance a bit more up the career path. I work for a really big company as a contractor and have been with the company for over 3 years now. I guess you can say I'm "settled" into this position.

Here is my situation. I was recently offered a permanent position within the company, but the company prefers you have a degree (computer science, EE). I can still get the position, but I will be put at a lower pay grade than if I had a degree. I honestly dislike this seeing that I've been doing the work for over 3 years and the only thing that is changing are my employment terms. Also I will be required to be making progress towards a 4 yr degree as listed above.

I always hear of people having the Degree, but not enough experience or certification or people that have the experience or certification being limited by not having the degree.

I understand and respect that having a Degree is a great thing, but most of me really does not want to have to go back to school again because it would be a long hard process since I have to work full time to pay bills. If I don't get a degree however, it will be next to impossible to move up. I also don't feel that the payout for having the degree in IT is worth the ordeal getting it.

Basically, I just want to hear some opinions on going back to school and getting the Degree. Is it worth it despite the hard work and has it payed off for you? Should I just suck it up and get it done? Or any other opinions. Thanks.

Comments

• eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Yes. Having any degree can often open doors that would otherwise remain closed.