Hi everyone

Priyanka KadiyalaPriyanka Kadiyala Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!!

I am a Master student from Texas. My undergrad has been about Telecommunications, and Masters about Networking, with my thesis on Wireless sensor networks. I am planning to take the CCNA by september '08. What would you think as to the chances of me getting a job with the certification, my background and interest in networking? Any help is really appreciated!! Thank you very very much!!

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    That's actually pretty interesting: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_Sensor_Networks :D

How much networking is involved with that? Is that what you're trying to pursue?

Cisco also recently announced a wireless specialization for the CCNA: http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/le0/le2/learning_certification_type_home.html

Be sure to check out the CWNA and/or Wireless# as well: http://www.cwnp.com
  • Priyanka KadiyalaPriyanka Kadiyala Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,

Yes, WSNs are pretty interesting. I am not sure of sticking with it, I just want to work with networks, and learn about networking for as long as possible. My thesis is titled "Non-uniform grid-based coordinated routing in wireless sensor networks". It involves in general about the various routing protocols and is more particular in terms of sensor networks. I am very comfortable with LANs, VLANs, routing and switching, Videophones( I have written a paper on videophones), and in general am keen about networking. I am hoping 2 months will suffice for my CCNA prep. Yes I have seen the CCNA concentration certs, but I was assuming CCNA 640-802 was a pre-requisite for them. So, do you think I should land into a job with the help of a CCNA on my resume? I hope to pursue other certs once I can afford them..am still stcuk with student loans for now.. :)
  • GlynixxGlynixx Member Posts: 138
    Hi,