My Experience with 70-291

eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
Took this one today and passed with a 715.

It took me about 3 hours to complete, with lots of second-guessing my answers and cursing under my breath.

For those of you that do this stuff everyday, I can see where this exam would be challenging. For those that have little or no exposure to this material, this exam would be impossible.

I studied using the MS Press book and 2 2003 servers at home. The MS Press book was really dull, so I would say that I spent most of my study time actually doing things on my equipment that was kind of in-line with the exercises in the book. I have some prior knowledge of the content, so a lot of the generic stuff was a matter of refreshing my mind about what different terms mean and in what situations you'd need to apply those concepts. I'd say the MS Press book is good for that and probably more if you can stay awake while reading it.

I also purchased the 70-291 PrepLogic study material a while back (when they were offering free vouchers with a purchase). I used this a bit but didn't find it to be very helpful.

Next step is 70-620, hopefully this Friday, which will give me an MCSA. Not sure if I will complete the remaining requirements for the MCSE or not, as having that cert doesn't really provide me with anything extra that I can use. My focus is on other competencies that I am seeing a much higher demand for in terms of qualified instructors.

Best of luck to those attempting this one...don't underestimate it.

MS

Comments

• AmpdChaosAmpdChaos Member Posts: 130
  • SieSie Member Posts: 1,195
    Congratulations!! Glad to see another one knocking down the beast!
    Foolproof systems don't take into account the ingenuity of fools
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Whoa.. that's cutting it pretty close ;)

Congratulations icon_cheers.gif
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    eMeS wrote: