Options

What to do?

mikasakamikasaka Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I am currently studying for my MCDST qualification which most of you probably know is the 70-271 and 70-272 exams. I'm just wondering how I would then reach MCSA? I know i'm probably asking a little soon, but I'd like to know for future reference.

So basically, what other exams would I need to do in order to get the MCSA qualification? Just want to try and get as many qualifications under my belt.

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcsa/windows2003/default.mspx

You'll have to do 290, 291, and your choice of a client exam (70-270 or 70-620, XP or Vista, respectively). 270 would probably be pretty easy after 271 and 272, but 620 will give you an opportunity to learn something new and prepare for the MCITP: Enterprise Administrator.

Also note that your MCDST elective will only count for the MCSA, not the MCSE
  • Options
    Cheers for that :D

I think I will go for the 620 examination tbh, especially being as it would get me the MCTS and go towards my MCITP:EST.

Think they are a long way off to be honest xD
    Got to find myself a job too >.<

Thanks again.
  • Options
    Looking at your situation, I'm going to change my advice. You should take 621. That's the upgrade to take your MCDST to MCITP:EST, and it will also fulfill any requirement/elective that requires 620 (such as MCITP:EA).
  • Options
    The MCITP:EA is all 4 MCTS's right?

Hmmm, I guess I'll do that, would have to buy 2 books though instead of just the one.

Guess it's worth it.
  • Options
    Well, if you get your MCSA, you can take an upgrade route as well: http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcts/windowsserver/2008/transition/default.mspx

If you have MCSA and MCDST. You should take 621 to upgrade your MCDST to MCITP:EST, and 648 to upgrade your MCSA. You'd then have to take 643 and 647 to earn your MCITP:EA.