MCSE ..VMWARE question

Andr3wAndr3w Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I intend to learn this MCSE. I am new to this MCSE and VMWare.

I have e2160 Intel Dual CPU, 1GB DDR-RAM2, 80GB (divided into 3 partition).

I intend to read those MS Press books to prepare for MCSE.

I have a few questions. Hope somebody can help me.

1) VMWare Server / VMWare Workstation
Which is better to prepare for this MCSE exams? I do not care about the cost factor. The ease of use and setup and suitability for learning is what important to me.

2) I have Windows XP installed in my main partition. Do I need to uninstall that 1st before i install VMWare or can I just install VMWare straight away?
(Sorry as I never use VMWare before and I do no want to mess up my com)

3) When I setup those VMWare and Windows Server 2003 and Windows XP (if I have to), will it affect my 3 partitions? Meaning in the middle of all those, will I suddenly be in a situation where I have to destroy all my partition and repartition again? This is very important because all my important files on those other partitions will be lost right?

Hope someone can answer my this noob questions. icon_redface.gif

Comments

• hettyhetty Member Posts: 394
    1. I would go with VMware workstation
    2. Install it like any other program
    3. If you are going to run out of space then maybe. Your files should be moved to another drive before repartitioning.

Best solution would be to buy another hard drive and add another 1gb or 2gb of RAM to your machine IMO.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    hetty wrote:
    1. I would go with VMware workstation
    2. Install it like any other program
    3. If you are going to run out of space then maybe. Your files should be moved to another drive before repartitioning.

Best solution would be to buy another hard drive and add another 1gb or 2gb of RAM to your machine IMO.