what's up with a lot of these on-line schools i.e. WGU etc..

mjonesmjones Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a 2 year degree A.A. in Business, and an A+ cert. I am currently studying for the Net+. This site like a lot of sites advertise a lot of online schools. Are they really credible? I am really interested in the WGU B.A. in IT because you get different cert's along the way. Would employers really accept a degree from this place or other any of the online schools and if so are they kind of frowned upon?

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    WGU and Capella seem credible. Others like University of Phoenix seem... not so great.

You can't just lump all online schools together because the quality will vary between them, just like with brick-and-mortar facilities.
  • mjonesmjones Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks dynamik you heve been very helpful to me today!!
  • jryantechjryantech Member Posts: 623
    Why not attend a University? There is some information missing here...

A lot of Universities have online and night classes if your current work is getting in the way.
    "It's Microsoft versus mankind with Microsoft having only a slight lead."
    -Larry Ellison, CEO, Oracle

Studying: SCJA
    They're both regionally accredited. How would taking online classes from them be different from taking online classes from another school? Just because the other one also offers on-campus classes? icon_rolleyes.gif

http://www.capella.edu/about_capella/accreditation.aspx
    http://www.wgu.edu/about_WGU/accreditation.asp

Here's another thread you may want to check out: http://www.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=230042

Like I said there, it also depends on the program.
    IT = icon_cool.gif
    Surgery = ncool.gif
  • down77down77 Member Posts: 1,009