Network+ Question

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
A few days ago, I posted a thread on the Security section because I wanted to aim for Security+. But I've decided to start with Network+ instead.

I am planning to dive right into Network+ without going through the A+ book. I have no prior experience but have taken Networking classes before in College. I understand Network+ is a challenging exam.

However, does the Network+ exam consist of materials coming from A+ book? (I don't want to get the A+ certificate but just want Network+)

Will it be easy if i spend 8 months studying for this Network+ exam?

Anyone here took the Network+ exam straight? without taking prerequisites?

Thanks

Comments

• stlsmoorestlsmoore Member Posts: 515 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you've taking a networking classes before and understood the topics fairly well you shouldn't have to many problems with this exam. In your case you could probably get it done within 3 months if you spend and hour or two a day studying I bet. I studied for about a month and a half but I also had about 4-5 years experience with networks so I used mostly sites like this one to fill in the gaps about networking terminology.
    My Cisco Blog Adventure: http://shawnmoorecisco.blogspot.com/

Don't Forget to Add me on LinkedIn!
    https://www.linkedin.com/in/shawnrmoore
  • laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
    thanks for the reply.

by the way, does anyone know any recent Network+ textbooks that would prepare me for the latest exam?

I found a few books on amazon by Mike Meyers (which the book was published about 4 years ago-and could be outdated???) I also found a Sybex Network+ book online, but its about 5 years old and some of the materials could be outdated as well???

Any experts here can make a good suggestion on a textbook?

thanks
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    So long as the books you are reviewing are based on the N10-003 objectives....they are current.

You may check out the PDF TechNotes here.