Leaning toward PM certs

Hello all, after being a technician for many years, I have been involved in more and more projects, and it turns out that as much as I love being a tech, I'm loving project management even more. Therefore, I want to start steering my career in the IT PM direction. Aside from the obvious PMP and ITIL (both WAY down the road for me), what others would you recommend? I found the MCITP - Project management cert, is that a good one for PMs? I'm trolling a great IT PM site as well for advice, but you guys are my first stop! Thanks!

Comments

• LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    I can recommend the PMP. It requires experience and it wasn't an easy exam, but the principles you learn can be applied to IT, a hospital, or even a construction site. I'm not sure if I completely agree, but they say a good project manager can work on any project because the techniques are universal. Good luck, it is definetely a hot field right now.

edit: www.pmhut.com is a decent site to check out.
  • eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    larrydaman wrote:
    I'm not sure if I completely agree, but they say a good project manager can work on any project because the techniques are universal.

I'm with you on this one...I think that is PMI hype. People who do construction or engineering project work are often specifically trained in those areas, and might even have a college degrees specific to that work. I know a person who does engineering project management...she has a specific degree in this field from UT, but is not a PMP.
    larrydaman wrote:
    It requires experience and it wasn't an easy exam..

I partially agree. You can't even register for the PMP exam without the required experience/education. However, the exam was among the easiest that I have ever done. This might be because I have many years of experience doing project management, or because I prepared adequately.