Options

Fiber cable for trunking in gigabit ether ports

itdaddyitdaddy Member Posts: 2,089 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey ccnp gurus, I had this question from someone who was trying to connect
a Gig Ethernet port using fiber cable is this even possible? And doesn't fiber have a higher speed? than Gigabit speed? I have seen Gigabit Ethernet cable for trunks sure but to instert a fiber cable into a Gigabit port is that possible even if it is a Gig Ether port? I am still learning
who knows it might be possible. But why would you put fiber in a Gigabit ether port, arent youonly going to get a gigabits worth of speed. Isnt it kind of a waste?? thanks a head of time.

And also, does anyone have a good config referrence to config and hook up this kind of conifgureation..thank you!

:D

Comments

• Options
    tech-airmantech-airman Member Posts: 953
    itdaddy wrote:
    a Gig Ethernet port using fiber cable is this even possible? And doesn't fiber have a higher speed? than Gigabit speed? I have seen Gigabit Ethernet cable for trunks sure but to instert a fiber cable into a Gigabit port is that possible even if it is a Gig Ether port? I am still learning
    who knows it might be possible. But why would you put fiber in a Gigabit ether port, arent youonly going to get a gigabits worth of speed. Isnt it kind of a waste?? thanks a head of time.

And also, does anyone have a good config referrence to config and hook up this kind of conifgureation..thank you!

itdaddy,

Do the fiber cables have an ST or SC connector on them?
  • Options
    srgsrg Member Posts: 140
    itdaddy wrote:

Ofcourse you can use fiber in a gigabit port, there are even fastethernet (100mbit) fiber sfp's with lc connections ( i believe the cisco 3400ME has those )
  • Options
    tech-airman

thanks...this guy asked me and I wasnt sure. Okay so the ends can be so that it will
    jive with the port and then do you have to config it in such a way that it knows it is a