Options

A+, what's the best way to get certified. Help!

william1971william1971 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have no IT or Hardware experience but I want to get A+ certified so I can break into the IT industry. I've looked into tech schools in my area but there all very expensive, and none of them will provide me financial aid. Are there any alternatives or other avenues I can take to become A+ certified or is a tech school my only option? Some people have mentioned just buy a book, but I think I might need more due to lack of experience with hardware.

Comments

• Options
    nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    buy a few different books, check out the technotes on this site, find an old computer to open up and play around with, maybe check out community colleges in your area that offer A+ classes

if you are dedicated to breaking into IT self study should serve you just fine
    WIP: IPS exam
  • Options
    sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you want structured classroom training the best way to do that (IMO) is to go to a community college instead of a tech school. The most popular way to get certified is by self study though. So really all you need is a good book (2 would be better though) and some old computer hardware to play around with. Check out this link from amazon.com for the book.

http://www.amazon.com/Certification-All-One-Guide-Sixth/dp/0072263113/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1216994997&sr=8-2
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • Options
    LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    sthomas wrote:
    If you want structured classroom training the best way to do that (IMO) is to go to a community college instead of a tech school. The most popular way to get certified is by self study though. So really all you need is a good book (2 would be better though) and some old computer hardware to play around with. Check out this link from amazon.com for the book.