Benefits of Exchange over external POP/SMTP?

dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
It probably goes without saying that I'm an Exchange noob. I'm looking to bring email in-house, and I was curious what benefits I could expect to see from this. We have about 30 people, and security and bandwidth are NOT issues.

Comments

• undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Makes it easier to be called in at 1 am because the boss can't access her e-mail?
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • averyjasaveryjas Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    As Undomiel alluded to, expect to eventually get calls from all 30 users at some point with email problems. I'm finding 80 percent of calls are related to email issues. It introduces its own set of headaches - good luck and have fun!
  • royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    OWA
    Sharing of Outlook Calendars / FreeBusy
    Out of Office
    Message Records Management
    Control over your E-mail System
    Quota Management
    Integration with Active Directory
    Ability to Create your own Disaster Recovery
    Learning Exchange and the Experience it will bring
    Archiving/Journaling which can assist with storage control and regulatory compliance
    Server Side Rules (like Outlook Rules but processed on Exchange)
    Full Mailbox Access for Users
    Integration with Sharepoint
    Conference Rooms
    Ability to Restrict PST Files and force users to place data into their mailbox to ensure all data gets backed up
    Entourage Access
    Global Address Lists
    E-mail Address Policies so you can have users with multiple e-mail addresses
    Flagging/Categorizing E-mails with Colors and Tags
    Recovery of Deleted Files by a user himself due to the Exchange Mailbox Dumpster

But as others said, you will have to learn all of this stuff and if your Exchange System fails, the restore process for Exchange can be quite challenging.