Options

Now LPIC-1 Certified

BeaverC32BeaverC32 Member Posts: 670 ■■■□□□□□□□
Sat the 102 exam this morning and passed to become LPIC-1 certified. I thought this exam was a bit easier than the 101 exam, but was still pretty tough.

I had questions on what seemed like everything: kernel configuration (modprobe, lsmod, modinfo, etc), scheduling using cron/at, mail setup, user and group administration, scripting, network configuration including apache, samba, nfs, and subnet masks, and the list goes on and on.

I studied using the O'Reilly book (excellent) and the IBM DeveloperWorks tutorials. I also complimented this with on-the-job experience and a few virtual appliances using VMWare player.

Time to celebrate with a nice Don Pepin Cuban Classic :)
MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003, LPIC-1, MCP, MCTS: Vista Config, MCTS: SQL Server 2005, CCNA, A+, Network+, Server+, Security+, Linux+, BSCS (Information Systems)

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Great timing! We're officially starting our RHCE studies this week, so now you don't have any excuses not to join in ;)

Congratulations on the pass!

If you don't hop on the RHCE bandwagon, what's next on your agenda?
  • Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Congratulations on your pass! I would definitely second those DeveloperWorks tutorials. There's a lot of good info in there.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • Options
    Thanks dynamik...

RHCE really would be overkill for the skills I need at my job. The information covered in Linux+ and LPIC-1 really is all I will need to be comfortable with the Linux systems I work with. I just feel that taking RHCE right now doesn't fit my career path, at least not right now :)

I am considering a cert in line with Oracle DBA. I have been bogged down at work so study time has been tight, but hopefully I can make a decision within the month.