Options

CISSP and work experience.

AlexGomezAlexGomez Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've a question regarding work experience and CISSP. I have a PhD in Cryptography and I've been working as a Identity Management consultant for the past 3 years. I'm thinking of doing the exam in Dec but I have a question regarding the work experience aspect.

During the course of my PhD, I worked in various crypthography based projects where I was the main project officer. Would this count as work experience or would this be considered educational experience since I was doing my PhD at the time? I've posted the same question to the ISC2 guys but I haven't had a reply yet. Any insights or comments would be greatly welcome.

Regards
Alex

Comments

• Options
    RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It depends on whether you have experience in any other area of the CISSP CBK. It looks like you definitely have the experience in the Cryptography domain, however, if that is the only thing you have worked in - which I doubt - you will need to gain further experience. I, personally, don't see how you could work in the Cryptographic field without experience in the Telecommunications and Network Security domain; that is unless you focused solely on the mathematics behind the algorithms.

What else have you done that falls under the CBK?

https://www.isc2.org/cgi-bin/content.cgi?category=1187
  • Options
    I've been doing Identity Management stuff for the past 3 years so I deal a lot with Role Based Access Systems (RBAC). So that would fall under the category of Access Control. The nature of my work also means I deal quite a bit with system architectures as well.

I've also worked quite a bit with WS-Security standards. I'm not entirely sure what category that would fall under but its probably Application Security.