Depressing...Can't seem to get experience

FluxCapacitorFluxCapacitor Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm having a really hard time finding any kind of work for me to do in IT. I wouldn't mind working for free but I just can't seem to find any position. I'm going to be 18 in 20 days so I'm hoping that can make some sort of a difference.

Please give me some advice. I'm a tech junky who has been working really hard on certs and hitting the books hard. I am just begging for some sort of experience in the field before I drive myself crazy.

Comments

• SilentsoulSilentsoul Member Posts: 260
    Try churches, your local ymca ,ywca, any local tech companies for an intern ship, your local community college.
  • AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    There's been some success from people in these forums getting jobs with circuit city or best buy on their tech teams, its supposedly a crappy place to work, but it least you'd get some experience.

To bad you don't live out here, the JTAC is always hiring, and with your certs you could easily get on the firewall or SSL/VPN team.
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    I'm having a really hard time finding any kind of work for me to do in IT. I wouldn't mind working for free but I just can't seem to find any position. I'm going to be 18 in 20 days so I'm hoping that can make some sort of a difference.

Please give me some advice. I'm a tech junky who has been working really hard on certs and hitting the books hard. I am just begging for some sort of experience in the field before I drive myself crazy.