70-270 is going to be my first!

haftap00phaftap00p Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well I am finally biting the bullet and going to start writing. I've been doing IT for the past 10 years and the only cert I've got is A+ icon_eek.gif I've been stubborn for a long time on writing any more certs. Now I'm finally starting to see that more certs = more money! Even though I'm a server admin now, you still can't possibly know it all.

So now that I've been going through my study materials. I'm like WOW this is a whack of stuff that I haven't even looked at or thought about in years. I figured I'd start with XP as it would be the easiest to start with. Now that I've come into the forums, I see several people saying it's more difficult then 70-290! icon_confused.gif To late now. It's paid for and I'm writing the 18th. :)

For those that have written and passed, what seem to be the most important topics that I should put a lot of focus on? Cause I just had to read about all the accessibility options and regional options and language settings about three times to make sure it was in my head for any questions that may arise on the exam. I want to make sure I have all the important things covered.

By the way I'm using Test Out's, Sybex text book and CBT's

Thanks all!

Comments

• bertiebbertieb Member Posts: 1,031 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Good luck icon_thumright.gif

I'm in a similar boat in that I've been in IT for 9yrs and apart from the odd MCP, didn't really get started into the whole certification thing (until last year). Just remember that the certs will go nicely with all that experience you've accrued over the years and will help fill in some knowledge gaps (and if anything like me doing some study will help you remember why you got into IT in the first place.)

I haven't done the XP one myself though, so not sure what to suggest on that one. Presumably you've had a look through the forums here for some pointers/tips?