Cryptography

IT ManIT Man Member Posts: 159
Greetings,

I am currently studying for my Security+ with an exam date of 8/26. I have a good understanding of most of the concepts except for cryptography. Not sure why this section just isn't sticking. I am hoping to just wake up one night at 3 am with a lightbulb over my head like eureka...but in case that doesn't happen, does anybody recommend any good material they used for that information.

Thanks
Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll still land among the stars. - Les Brown

Comments

• gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Is there anything in particular you are having trouble with. Studying PKI is very useful to help tie everything in together (Certificates, Digital Signature, Symmetric and Asymmetric keys, Hashing)

http://www.petri.co.il/public_key_infrastructure_pki.htm
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What resources are you using and what are you specifically having problems with? To be honest, you will learn a ton just going through Wikipedia and learning about every algorithm and term you come across.

Also, check out Security Now! episodes 30-37.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Security_Now! (Wikipedia actually has the most convenient list for it, they included links to the episodes)
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Cryptography is something that I just didn't "get" until I played with it first hand. Even though this is a vendor neutral test, there isn't anything that says you can't install some vendor's implementation of PKI and play around with it. If you have a virtual lab and windows 2003 media, and a client machine with Outlook, set one up and play around with it.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible