Options

Practical use of Cissp

slinuxuzerslinuxuzer Member Posts: 665 ■■■■□□□□□□
Ok, I have been reading alot about the Cissp. I have recently finished my Mcse. I feel like security is my strongest suite.

I am wanting to get more into security analyst / compliance with like Ernest and young Audits. I have 5 years on the job experience I have been doing mostly network administration, but have dealt with preparing for Audits, designing logical access controls, backup security and physical security.

My question is to anyone who is a cissp or anyone who feels they know.

How valuable is this cert in the real world?

How lilkely is it to get me into a security analyst role?

How hard is it to make the kind's of experience I have had map over to the professional experience requirment?

How hard is this cert / what kind of time and study effort can I expect to be needed?

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    slinuxuzer wrote:
    If you mean valuable for employment opportunities, go to dice.com and search on the keyword "CISSP". Count the number of employers looking for people with the CISSP cert.
    slinuxuzer wrote:
    By itself? Zero chance. You also need the complementary education and experience that a prospective employers are looking for. The CISSP cert is complementary to the other things on your resume and not the sure ticket to a great job.
    slinuxuzer wrote:
    How hard is it to make the kind's of experience I have had map over to the professional experience requirment?
    I would need to see your resume to determine that. Do you have it posted on LinkedIn.com?
    slinuxuzer wrote:
    How hard is this cert / what kind of time and study effort can I expect to be needed?
    Only you can answer that question accurately. Go to a book store and look through the Shon Harris CISSP All-in-One book and see how much of the material you already know. Also, be realistic with how well you study and learn that type of material.