Old timer question on CCENT/CCNA

PheadrusPheadrus Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm very new to this field. I have decided to make a life altering swing from one field to another. I did some Admin work years back as an undergrad, back when Windows 2000 was popular. I ran a home Linux box for several years with many flavors and many installs. My favorite being Gentoo. I have been since that point in the real-estate field (law) but as many of you might know that field is sinking faster then a lead ballon. Anyways, I'm looking on CBT and TrainSignal to buy some training videos. I have a lot of computer building knowledge ( I have built every single computer I have owned) Right now running a Shuttle box. I know that's no big task with today's bios and pulg and play hardware but back in the day it was lol. So for an old timer of 33 here. I have a game plan.

I'm going to start and complete the

1. COMPTIA A+

2. DNS/DHCP Courses/Videos

3. NETWORK+

4. LINUX+

Then perhaps study for the CCENT or CCNA if I am getting this right?

I was thinking just doing the CCNA

Then doing the CWNA and eventually moving up to the CCNP after obtaining a job ofcourse.

Does this seem reasonable?

Mind you, I am great test taker, passed my LSAT with a 174, passed Bar exam on first try.

I really want to make this my career and give my wife and daughter a more stable life, as real-estate is always in flux.

Thank you guys/gals in advance for any advice or opinions

Cheers!
D

Comments

• PheadrusPheadrus Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'd love to hear from some of you guys/gals, your opinions, and advice. Help a newbie out here lol.

Cheers
    D
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin