SSCP and CISSP Question

mbock7mbock7 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am close to graduating from my university with a Bach in Network Security and i am currently studying for my Security+. The job that i would like is a Security Analyst, but i am curious no what certs to get. I do see CISSP being required by alot of differnt security analyst jobs, so i guess my question is do you think after security+ i should go for my SSCP and then CISSP?
--Matt

Comments

• undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    You may want to check out the experience requirements for those. 1 year of experience for the SSCP and 5 years for the CISSP though your degree or Security+ would waive 1 year of the requirement for the CISSP.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    undomiel wrote:
    You may want to check out the experience requirements for those. 1 year of experience for the SSCP and 5 years for the CISSP though your degree or Security+ would waive 1 year of the requirement for the CISSP.
    Exactly. CISSP requires more than just taking a test.
  • bcairnsbcairns Member Posts: 280
    Forgive my horrible spelling it is late and I am trying to cram a lot of information into this reply...

As some of the other folks have stated, CISSP is a lot more then "just security", you have to be a jack of all trades, know a lot about just about everything.

That being said...I would recomend you get a bunch of certs in a lot of different categories. Some recomendations would be:

(in no special order)
    A+ - good starter cert, best to do this first
    Network+ - should be your next stop after A+
    Server+ - not to many people do this one, personally I think it should be required learning
    Security+ - Manditory for any IA / INFOSEC position
    Linux+ - matter of personal taste, I have not done this one (yet)
    MCP - You get this by passing one microsoft exam