Multicast material

kpjunglekpjungle Member Posts: 426
Hi,

Im studying the multicast material in several of the Cisco press books. I have read the self-study guide on this material like 10 times and the same for the exam certification guide. What I dont understand is alot of the material they discuss and use in the lab portfolio.. Like how the transition from a shared tree to a source tree occurs. It just seems like im missing out on some material.

I know that its an intro chapter into multicasting, but you would think the lab portfolio would take into account only things thats in the study guide.

Has anyone else had a problem with this?

I have also used:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/internetworking/technology/handbook/IP-Multi.html

But still without the feeling that i have the full picture.

Any suggestions ideas?
Studying for CCNP (All done)

Comments

• kryollakryolla Member Posts: 785
    when it gets the s,g entry it switches to source tree. Remember on sparse mode there is a path from server to RP and a path from RP to a client. The path from server to RP will have a s,g entry and the path from RP to client will have a *,g at first then will get a s,g and switch to source tree. There are also thresholds for when it switches or not to ever switch to a source tree. HTH
    Studying for CCIE and drinking Home Brew
  • nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    this is the section I bombed on my first attempt at the bsci exam, the TCP/IP Routing Volume II book has really helped clarify these concepts and I would suggest you check it out
    WIP: IPS exam
  • kpjunglekpjungle Member Posts: 426
    this is the section I bombed on my first attempt at the bsci exam, the TCP/IP Routing Volume II book has really helped clarify these concepts and I would suggest you check it out

Ick.. more costs. Maybe I will, just a little disappointed if the self-study + cert guide doesnt cover it in the detail you would need...