Entry level

Now I don’t consider myself entry level, I’d consider myself Junior, but not entry level. I have around 5 years experience in IT. 1.5 years Helpdesk, 3 years Desktop Support and Network Admin.

Am I just completely off here, or can someone explain to me what ENTRY LEVEL is? I’ve always had this, I guess naive assumption, that entry level means NO experience and maybe some schooling. But I keep seeing positions that say entry level and then say 1 year experience, 1 – 2 years exp, I swear, even though I can’t remember where, that I saw one that said 3 - 5 years exp.

WTF?

Anyone out there, maybe those of you that run your own business, want to expand on this for me?

This is the post I most recently noticed.
http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/tch/814100655.html

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    IMO entry level is less to do with time worked and more to do with skill set. If you work entry level work for 20 years and never grow professionally you are still entry level.

Usually someones skill set grows with time but not always.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • supertechCETmasupertechCETma Member Posts: 377
    entry-level = bottom of the food chain icon_cool.gif
    Electronic Technicians Association-International www.eta-i.org
    The Fiber Optic Association www.thefoa.org
    Home Acoustics Alliance® http://www.homeacoustics.net/
    Imaging Science Foundation http://www.imagingscience.com/
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I guess there is no good definition, but I would say a job in a field that requires no previousl experience that offers a chance to grow.

en·try-lev·el Audio Help /ˈɛntriˌlɛvəl/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[en-tree-lev-uhl] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation
    –adjective