Options

Which Route to MCSA?

aidan80aidan80 Member Posts: 147 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm sure this has been asked a hundred times already but I wouldn't mind a wee bit of guidance on this.

I want to aim for the MCSA then maybe in time the MCSE.. who knows at this point. I'm thinking which module or modules should I be aiming for. I've looked at the MS site but it's confused me more than helped plan which cert I should aim for next?

I've my A+, N+ about 2 years worth of training from back home (NVQ's) and I've 5 years experience administering a very small workgroup which included 802.11 devices.

Anyway I want to work my way up to MSCA with on the job experience (if I can find a tech job here) and certifications as I move on. For now I'd like to have MCP on my resume but which module do you people think would be best and would count towards the MCSA if I've my A+/N+ already done?

Thanks, :D

Comments

• Options
    ULWizULWiz Member Posts: 722
    I would personally take the 620 and then 290 and 291. Then you have your MCSA. The 620 counts towards other certifications so that would be your best choice.
    CompTIA A+ Nov 25, 1997
    CompTIA Network+ March 7, 2008
    MCTS Vista 620 June 14, 2008
    MCP Server 290 Nov 15, 2008
    MCP Server 291 In Progress (Exam 12/28/09)
    Cisco CCENT In Progress
    MCP Server 291 In Progress
    C|EH In Progress
  • Options
    M4verickM4verick Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    ULWiz wrote:
    I would personally take the 620 and then 290 and 291. Then you have your MCSA. The 620 counts towards other certifications so that would be your best choice.

+1

You get to use your A+/Net+ combo as the elective credit.
    Isn't it funny how after you have the certifications, you don't care about sharing them as much?
  • Options