scheduled test for 8-22-08, 1 quick question?

mjonesmjones Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
First of all I would like to thank all of the moderators of this site for putting this very informational website together. I visit this site at least 5x a day. Whenever I ask a question or questions I get a reply/answer faster from you guys quicker than if I were to research it on the net!! (thanks Dynamik!!)

Now for my question? I feel very confident with all of the info I have retained in preparation for this test. I am using the Technotes from this site, ExamCram 2 and some measure up test questions (also wikipedia, how stuff works etc...) I have been studying for more than 90+ days. I still fell unsure about subnetting. I have read the info posted on this site but I am a still a novice. I understand the basic concepts until.... I get a question like,

"Find the broadcast address of 192.168.2.0 /27"

which totally blows my mind. I understand everything until I see the "/" at the end of a subnet address.

how would I answer this question (please in very basic terms) and should I worry about the test getting any more complex than this with subnetting .i.e CIDR etc...?

Comments

• dvalenzueladvalenzuela Member Posts: 123
    the Subnet is 192.168.2.0
    The Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.224
    The BroadCast ADdress : 192.168.2.31

Well this is the point.

u need to know /24 means 255.255.255.0. If u use /27 you are borrowin 3 bits (27-24)
    This 3 will be used for network ids. The rest 5 for hosts. Anyways, the way that I do is the Following I use this small table
    2^7=128,2^6=64,2^5=32,2^4=16,2^3=8,2^2=4,2^1=2,2^0=1

AAAAAAAA.BBBBBBBB.CCCCCCCC.xxxyyyyy

Since xxx(3bits) are used for Network Ids, the yyyyy(5bits) are used for host ids. Well This 5 bits needs to be filled with 1s in order to get the broadcasts for that subnet and compared with the small table above that I mentioned before. In this case
    16 + 8 + 4 + 2 + 1 =31
    y y y y y