Options

Hello

mikka07mikka07 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm new to the forums and to the world of certs. I recently was conferred my BSIT and I'm currently studying for the Security+ Exam. I'm starting here becasue it will become a mandatory standard for all DoD IT personnel, and I'm looking at a new spot in our IT department. I was curious as to if anyone has any advice regarding where I should start for each different area of cert ie. Microsoft, Linux, etc. Thanks in advance for your advice! :)

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,026 Admin
    We have separate forums for each vendor cert (CompTIA, Microsoft, Cisco, etc.), each with a lot of people who either have or are studying for practically any certs you'd want.

And welcome to TechExams.net! :D
  • Options
    mikka07mikka07 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks JD. I was asking here because I couldn't seem to find the exact place to figure out which cert was which so as to pose my question.
  • Options
    All of the "+" certs are CompTIA, so as a Security+ candidate you'd hang out here. The Microsoft, Cisco, and security forums are easy to find. Are you more of a systems admin person or a network tech person? Or perhaps a software/applications person?
  • Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Welcome to the forums :)

Security+ is a good theoretical introduction to the world of security, I'm doing it myself right now :)

My personal opinion is, depends on your job. If you're working with Microsoft products, then start studying for Microsoft certifications, you can use your security+ to get credit for MCSA:Security.

If you have good theoretical networking background from your BS.c, then go for Cisco CCNA, if you dont have the theory, then go for Network+ then CCNA. Even if you dont work with Cisco devices, CCNA is a good networking background for you.