Options

First time look at Exams

chipfryerchipfryer Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.

I am a newbie to the group and have a few serious questions for you.
Firstly I see a lot of websites offering course exams and I wonder if they are all genuine?

My experience with computers to date is all self taught and while this is not a bad thing. Learning from making mistakes etc. I really want the certificates to prove that I can do what I can if you know what I mean?

I am erring towards the online courses owing to lack of hours during the day. Has anyone here used online courses and what are your thoughts on this please?

First I will be starting with html course and working upwards.

Kindest regards.
Mark.
The more I learn the more I like it!

Comments

• Options
    mwgoodmwgood Member Posts: 293
    Hi Mark,

I can't give you any recommendations as far as online courses, but I certainly think that getting certifications to prove what you can do and to learn more about IT is definitely a worthwhile pursuit.

Being mostly self-taught myself, I understand where you are coming from - but I also would stress not underestimating the value of putting yourself in a context where you can learn from your peers.

I work in technical support and have found that although personal study is indispensable, it is also crucial to get on the job experience and learn from your peers. Learning happens exponentially faster when you put yourself in a setting where you are surrounded with lots of experts, where you can ask questions, and get answers quickly - AND put it into practice.

So - I wouldn't steer you away from online classes - I only want to point out that whatever your mode of learning, don't forget experience as well as immersing yourself with other people who already know what you want to know.
  • Options
    lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483