Syngress vs. Sybex study guides

UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
I started studying security+ last week, I started with Sybex book from my employer. I finished almost two chapters, nothing new so far because the concepts I know back from college and from my online readings.

Anyway, today I got the Syngress book from a friend. Compared to Sybex(roughly 500 pages), the Syngress book is about 800 pages.

I don't know, should I continue with the Sybex book since it's mostly review except for few topics that are new to me ?? or should I leave it and continue from the Sybex book ??

Personally I think I'll start from chapter 3 from the Sybex book, but I'd like to get any input from you :)
Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

Comments

• M4verickM4verick Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Well, mebbe go a bit through both and see which you think you'll benefit most from.
    Personally Syngress worked wonders for me.
    Isn't it funny how after you have the certifications, you don't care about sharing them as much?
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The Syngress book is great. Just skim what you know and spend a decent amount of time with the rest of it.

Edit: I have absolutely no clue what that poster below me is talking about *whistles innocently*
  • mikka07mikka07 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote:
    The Syngress book is great. Just skim what you don't know and spend a decent amount of time with the rest of it.

Dynamik I hope you meant that the other way araound! icon_lol.gif
  • LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    +1 for the Syngress Book
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    I'm completing my studies from Syngress right now

Thanks fellows :)

• mikka07mikka07 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Just got my Syngress book in the mail yesterday. Hopefully it will be as helpful as most say it is!
  • gwamakagwamaka Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□