study tips

jmanrtajmanrta Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I have an AS and two years experience but hold no certs. Reason being is I have trouble studying for them. I have a horrible attention span and have hard time sitting and reading a book. And some of the CBT stuff is even more grueling. I did do well though with the hands on training I got with my degree. The problem is right now I can't afford anything hands on. So does anyone have any good recommendations as far as studying for certs goes?

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Which certs are you looking at? Have you looked at virtual machines at all? One moderately powerful PC can take of most, if not all, of your MS/*nix studies. Dynamips can do the equivalent for your Cisco studies (with the exception of switching).
  • jmanrtajmanrta Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am leaning more towards MS and linux certs. Do you some of the books contain labs I can practice with at home? If so any recommendations as far as M$ goes?
    You need to decide which specific cert you want to start working on. If you start with XP or Vista, you can get by with just a client OS. The MS Press books usually have good exercises for each certification.
  • DiminutiveDiminutive Member Posts: 102 ■■■□□□□□□□
    CBT Nuggets has a "fast" speed. Its quite nice, I tried Testout and it bored me ot tears.
    WIP: Win2008 MCITP Upgrade
  • jmanrtajmanrta Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Diminutive wrote:
    CBT Nuggets has a "fast" speed. Its quite nice, I tried Testout and it bored me ot tears.

See I can't do CBT nuggets as most videos bore me even more then books. Like I said in my OP I do better with hands on training. Are there any cd-rom based or even online hands on based labs for microsoft?
  • DiminutiveDiminutive Member Posts: 102 ■■■□□□□□□□