What next? Job/Cert

ZraxniahZraxniah Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I worked 5 summers fulltime for a medical hardware/software firm (50 employees or less), doing warehouse work and PC repair during highschool and shortly afterward. I graduated high school with A+ Network+ and CCNA certifications (I took a CCNA program in high school, and passed all the exams in about a month because I got out of finals for the course, heh). Anyway, I've been bumping around college a bit and I'm not a big fan of school full time -- so I've gotten an internship at about 24k, and held the job for about a year. I helped the organization put in place Dell reimbursements and they paid for my Dell certification (which is a joke of a test), although my CCNA has since expired. I am still in night school and plan to be through graduation and probably an MBA (I'm going IT major/CS minor for undergrad).

I'm probably going to take the Security+ test within a month, and was wondering what else I can do to increase my chances of employment. I've been applying to jobs steadily for a couple of months, and have gotten a few nibbles from recruiters. I'm thinking of going for one of the lower M$ certs next or doing CCNA/CCDA or CWNA. I find my biggest problem is money -- I need a higher paying job like 3 months ago when I moved out... and its only going to get worse. Any advice? Any good way to make money on the side without fixing old lady's computers and such? :o

Side note: I've checked out salary.com's rates for my area, and they seem overly generous (like 20-40% over what I would have expected) -- has anyone else thought this?

Thanks everyone, new to the site but loving it,
Zrax

Comments

• sab4yousab4you Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I think your biggest challenge is experience.

Do you want to pursue with your Cisco knowledge? Entry level cisco work is hard to find, unfortunately.