Complete breakdown every little detail of OSI Model?

DisarrayDisarray Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi I'm studying the OSI Model right now and while I definitely think I have the basics of it covered I really want to know all the gory details and I'm finding that extremely difficult to do since I've yet to find an article/guide/tutorial/etc that details every little thing that happens through it.

So first and foremost does anyone have a complete guide to the OSI model?

I should state my goal is to be able to in my head go through every single little thing data does as it goes through the OSI Model.

What I mean by complete is a guide that shows the data traveling through the model and taking you through every single little thing that happens.

Let me give you an example of the type of details I'm talking about that everything I've seen dealing with the OSI Model leaves out.

Regarding the three-way handshake that takes place at the transport layer my Sybex CCNA book

Basically describes it like this...

1)The first segment is for a synch request

2)The second and third segs acknowledge the request and establish the connection rules.These segs request the reciever sequence is sycned here as well so that bidirection connection is formed.

3)Final segment also and acknowledgment, notifies destination host the connection agreement is accepted and connection has been established

Now while perhaps (?) thats all I may need to know for the CCNA exam it leaves out a ton of information

I found an example though of what I would have liked to know on google and you can view that here

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/172983

Some key things I gathered from that link that I didn't get from the book are

For one the just reading the book I think you could see how one could develope a garbled picture of the sequence number and the synchronize bit set

It would be even harder to differentiate between the ACK: number and the Acknowledgement field