Options

Career advice

coax31coax31 Member Posts: 117 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have worked in IT for over 8 years and am 35 years old:

Level 1 helpdesk 17 months 3/2000 - 8/2001
General help desk support, 3000 users, company went chap 11.

Level 2 support analyst 9/2001 - 2/2007
10,000 people, publically traded company, ran some Cisco VoIP install projects as well as a few other IT projects and did general corporate desktop support.

Systems Administrator 3/2007 - present
350 person company, single active directory domain, 5 branch offices, 1 exchange server, Cisco WAN connections, etc.

I have a 4 year BS degree from UOP and several certifications: MCP, A+, Network+, MCSA, and CCENT, and I just completed exam 070-293, I am 3 MS tests shy of a MCSE. I know this may not be enough info, but I only make $55,000/yr and I work in the Denver Tech Center. Do you guys think I am overpaid, underpaid, just right? I personally think I am underpaid but what is your opinion?

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,565 Mod
    underpaid.

I think you need to work more on your certifications and get a higher paying job
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    Sounds like you moved out of desktop support into infrastructure support in '07. If that's the case, you look to be doing good.

Look up a System Administrator I position in your zip code on salary.com.
  • Options
    jamesp1983jamesp1983 Member Posts: 2,475 ■■■■□□□□□□
    def underpaid
    "Check both the destination and return path when a route fails." "Switches create a network. Routers connect networks."
  • Options