OSSEC - HIDS

AhriakinAhriakin Member Posts: 1,799 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi Folks,

Anyone out there using this? www.ossec.net . It looks pretty good for a free product and I'm just beginning to test it myself for possible deployment on our servers. I'm going through Syngress' "OSSEC Definitive Guide..." at the moment trying to absorb it.

Sooo, good.... bad...ugly?
We responded to the Year 2000 issue with "Y2K" solutions...isn't this the kind of thinking that got us into trouble in the first place?

Comments

• AhriakinAhriakin Member Posts: 1,799 ■■■■■■■■□□
    No no, don't all reply at once you might hurt yourselves icon_twisted.gif

Well I finally got a test server and a few agents running properly and so far so good. No fancy network or application layer shims but then it is 'just' a HIDS and of course it's free. Quite a solid product actually and once I dusted off my woefully underused (Read: "crap") Linux chops it was easy enough to setup, just ran into one issue with DNS resolution of my SMTP server. I'm going to eventually deploy this to centrally monitor/email-alert for about 50 Windows and 2 Linux servers, Snort, Symantec AV and hopefully the Cisco devices over time (eventually adding active response on those)....as I presume that nice new Cisco MARS I asked for this year will be a no show.

If anybody else has any interest in this I'd be happy to update this with progress reports and any gotchas over time.
    We responded to the Year 2000 issue with "Y2K" solutions...isn't this the kind of thinking that got us into trouble in the first place?
  • marco71marco71 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
    yep, I used linux version couple of years ago... was pretty nice and all mail-reports were helpful
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,025 Admin
    You might want to look at VMOSSIM instead. I'm evaluating it right now.