Options

which entry-level certification to take?

begoodbegood Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
i'm a Masters student in ECE. i'm interested in a networking career. i want to go for a entry-level certification like CCENT or Network+ etc.are there any other certifications offered by other vendors that can fit my requirement of entry-level certifications? is CCENT only about the Cisco way of dealing with N/Wking? also i want to grow in Network Security or wireless networking field.which of the two has a stronger job market?i have a good knowledge and 1.5 yrs work exp. in java. will that be of any use in building a career in network security/wireless networking?what kind of entry-level jobs should i take up to grow in the Network security/wireless networking field?
pls give a reply.

Comments

• Options
    TechBoy22TechBoy22 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Im in the same position. Most people even myself will tell you to get your A+ first. As far as networking certs, the CCENT and CCNA are aimed at Cisco products. It certifies you to only deal with their equipment. Switches routers ect. I know there is a certification for wireless I believe, but I myself am not familiar with the name. Security + would be good to learn as well. Network+ is a more general certification. It all depends on you. Check out the cisco website. I am already a fan of their certs which is why I have a high interest in getting them. They kinda break down your job title with each cert and your expected salary. Also as far as job demand, youll have to just do research within your area to see what is available to you. It all depends on location. I live in NJ 10 minutes from NY. My area might be more hungry than say MO or SC. Good luck in your decision and search.
    Michael

Dreams are made up of small ideas with BIG pictures. Focus is the key that unlocks the door to success.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□