Which programming language?

EnidEnid Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
HI,

Just wondering if anyone could offer advice on the following:
I have a degree in languages (Speak English, German, French)and after doing some training in UNIX and Oracle I got two years experience working for a major investment bank in Germany as a support engineer for various in-house applications.

Six months ago I left my job to spend some time travelling. Now I'm back I intend to try and move into development (not mad for support) and the agency I worked through previously are offering to train me in JAVA.

Can anyone offer opinions on what are the best technologies for me to get into? ie which will offer best prospects and earn most money? Is JAVA the way forward? .NET perhaps? or any other suggstions?

Many thanks in advance!

Comments

• keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    sap
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • EnidEnid Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    What is the best way to get into SAP without incurring huge course fees?

Are there companies out there who will take people without a great deal of IT experience and give on the job SAP training?
  • HÆLLRÆZORHÆLLRÆZOR Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    C/C++ is the language to learn IMHO. It is best to learn basic C first then move into C++. After you get the syntax down learning JAVA and the .NET language C# is relativly easy. This is the track I went through. Except I am guessing about the learning JAVA part. One of my friends who went to the same school I did and learned C/C++ like I did told me it was fairly easy to learn JAVA after learning C/C++. Also learning some ASM will be very helpful if you do decide to learn C/C++. Perl and Python are also some other languages that I would suggest you try to learn.
  • lazyartlazyart Member Posts: 483
    If you are going that route, dont bother with C.. go straight to C++