New Career

skynyrdskynyrd Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a 46 year old man who has been a structural steel fitter/welder all his life. This is all I know. Other than occasional web surfing, and playing around with the computer from time to time, I have had no experience with computers. Because of a minor back problem, and simply because I am sick of what I’m doing, I went to a local school here in Jacksonville, Fl. called FastTrain, paid them $6,900 and I signed up for CompTIA A+ and CompTIA N+ training. Upon completion of those, and another $6,000, I will begin training for CompTIA Security+, Microsoft MCP, Microsoft MCSA, Microsoft MCSE and Cisco CCNA certs. I guess the main questions I have are; did I wait too long to get started with a new career? Does anyone out there know anything about FastTrain? I make about $40,000 with my current job. How many years experience will it take to equal my present salary? With the above certs, will I be able to get a job relatively soon after school? If there is anyone out there who could help me in anyway with any advice, I would be forever so grateful to you. Thank you so very much for your time and trouble.

Comments

• garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    You need experience & how you get it is entirely up to how motivated you are. About money- after a couple years working as a Systems Admin with an MCSA your good for about $55,000 on average. In this field you can easily get over 40k without breaking a sweat. Get good & certified at what you do and you can make over 100k. Its up to you & its never too late.
  • skaeightskaeight Member Posts: 130
    skynyrd wrote: