Options

Okay, I need advice again. I need to make up my mind

I've been wavering for more than a couple years about this. I still got my 2 year tech degree but never pursued I.T seriously. My tech degree is closing in on 5 years old, I never got an I.T job, instead I got some work in A/R (Accounts Receivable) did that for a couple years 3, went to Texas to 03 to get away for a bit and so forth.

Since 04, I've been mostly unemployed, I had a little data entry job, got fired after a week since I couldn't keep up with the ladies there. Then, to be honest I figured out that I don't wanna do A/R work anymore, tired of the billing/receiving / Excel and work thing. I felt like it's more a ladies job than a job for men and didn't feel to content doing that stuff anymore.

I've been thinking of really pursuing I.T again while at the same time I'm in the process of moving to another city in Fla.

The good thing is that my bills are very low (under 900) since the last 3 years I focused on paying off everything that I owed. No heavy bills but my apartment which is under $600.00, no car payment, cheap insurance, no credit cards, cheap cell phone and so forth.

College;

I'm going to attend UCF in January, orginally wanted to take up Accounting then I said no, don't really care for it that much thinking of going back for CS - bachelors degree.

My question is basically can one make a living in I.T? Like everyone else I don't plan on working for someone forever becuase my mother is a Real Estate agent and I plan on getting that on the side to hopefully one day open up my own business.

The bad part is that I'm 30 already, not to young but not to old. I don't see myself in Corporate America for more than maybe 15 years tops.

I don't know what I'm saying here but what are my chances? I gotta make up my mind becuase I'm getting older, not younger.

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359