Options

About the 70-271...

JollyrancherJollyrancher Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

This is my first post, I had been posting at another forum but this one seems much more active. I have a 70-271 scheduled for the 5th of November, it will be my first Microsoft exam ever, and thus far I have been using free resources such as CertQuest practice exams..pdf files..MS TechNet articles etc.

I get the feeling that although these free resources will help, they won't be enough to cover the material without me getting blindsided when I actually go to sit the exam. I have also ordered the MS Press book, and am wondering if that will be enough detailed information to get past the 700+ mark on the exam.

I have a lot of experience with Windows XP Home, but never XP in the professional/networking sense. In anyone else's experience, has the MS Press book combined with some hands on training been enough?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    rfult001rfult001 Member Posts: 407
    MS Press should be a good start. You need to get hands on with XP Pro though and learn how to support it in an enterprise environment; that is what the MCDST is about.

You may be able to pass with what you've got, but I would HIGHLY recommend getting more hands-on.

Anyway...Welcome to the Forum. Be sure to check out the Technotes for the 70-270 exam!
  • Options
    loxleynewloxleynew Member Posts: 405
    It's useful but when I took the 271 I went to the bookstore and read over the exam cram book on 271. It covered a lot of the installation and spec questions that the press doesn't seem to cover very well.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Hello all,

I have a lot of experience with Windows XP Home, but never XP in the professional/networking sense. In anyone else's experience, has the MS Press book combined with some hands on training been enough?