Token Ring

wildfirewildfire Member Posts: 654
I am studying for my CCNP I have a series of routers a couple which have token ring (RJ-45) interfaces. Is there a way to connect these back to back if so what are the pinouts for that particular lead.

I would also like to host my rack online so people could use it for free when Im not does anyone know how to go about this?
Looking for CCIE lab study partnerts, in the UK or Online.

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    wildfire wrote:
    I am studying for my CCNP I have a series of routers a couple which have token ring (RJ-45) interfaces. Is there a way to connect these back to back if so what are the pinouts for that particular lead.
    I'm actually not sure if that would work but Token-Ring uses pairs 1 and 3 (pins 4-5, 3-6) so you could give it a shot.

If you do you need a MSAU you should be able to pick up a used one for nearly nothing.
    wildfire wrote:
    I would also like to host my rack online so people could use it for free when Im not does anyone know how to go about this?
    Let me know if you find out ;)
    I've been looking for a solution for that myself. It seems that those who do it developed something theirselves.
  • tunerXtunerX Member Posts: 447 ■■■□□□□□□□
    http://www.cabling-design.com/references/pinouts/token_ring_crossover.shtml

This only works if your hardware has a builtin MAU (7500). Otherwise you need to get an external MAU.

what do you have for a lab setup?
  • wildfirewildfire Member Posts: 654
    cheers for the responses guys, no luck finding a mau on ebay, was just trying to utilise spare ports,

My lab setup is at www.ciscoengineer.co.uk