Passed!

genXrcistgenXrcist Member Posts: 531
Hey guys, first post. Passed my Network+ today, 720. A lot of questions I never saw on any of my study material, like where do you change the network settings on a OS X server? Wow! the technotes on this site were real valuable, thanks guys!

Anyway, passed and now I'm onto my trying to decide on my next cert., MCDST or MCSA. I'm a Desktop tech so I think the MCDST would be more applicable now but, I think the MCSA would help me get into Server administration.

Any thoughts?

icon_cool.gif
1) CCNP Goal: by August 2012

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Congratulations!

The next exam is up to you. Which area do you want to work? Getting the job depends on your personality and skills and not just the certifications/credentials one can flash. Do you have the ability to be a Sys Admin today?

It will also depend on the organization and how many people they want on staff. So a Sys Admin may be the person who contacts a consulting firm to assist on bigger problems, while they handle basic system problems that occur. Some companies this means you must handle everything with very little outside assistance. Others this may mean you are part of a team of people.

So you may wish to go for the MSCA exams, or you may wish to add Sec+, Server+ or even Project+ depending on how you see yourself being useful to an employer or clients.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • genXrcistgenXrcist Member Posts: 531
    Thanks bro!

Well, no, I couldn't be a Sys Admin today but in a short time I know I could. I just need some hands on experience and I would do just fine.