2501 or 2514 ?

walid97walid97 Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I want to buy a Cisco 2500 router, I am confused between the 2501 and the 2514.

I am planing to buy one router onle (shipping is so expensive), so I thought that the 2514 has 2 AUI ports, so I can connect 2 PCs to the router and have 2 different networks (each PC a different network) and try to send packets from a PC to another.

On the other hand, the 2501 has only 1 AUI port, which means 1 port only ! So does this mean that I can connect 1 network to the 2501 only ??? if so, what's the benefit of such thing (routers are here to connect different networks together !)

All I want to implement is 1 router with 2 networks attached to it in order to check the routing table (send packet from 1 PC to another at a different network). What I think is that the 2501 will always forward the packet to the only AUI port, unlike the 2514.

excuse me, but I am new to router stuff.. dunno if what I just said is right or no..can you help please.

Thanks

Comments

• wildfirewildfire Member Posts: 654
    Think you are a little confused about how the router works,

Routers are used to connect networks toghether but with other routers, so you would need 2x 2501 connected via the serial port (theres two of them on a 2501)

The normal scenario would be you are a company and you have a series of PCs you want to connect to the internet or a company wan. All the pcs are put onto a switch, this swith then connects to the router Ethernet port(AUI). Then the Wan connectivity would go out another port, on a 2501 you may go out to a T1leased line, Frame relay network etc. At the other end of this would be 1 or more routers. I dont want to go to much into it as Id be typing all day. for CCNA you need 2 routers, you would not gain much benefit from 1 router.

The 2501 is a base model with 2 serial ports V.35 1.554Mbps, 1 AUI 10baseT port (need a transerver for this), an aux port and a console port.