What certifications do you suggest I focus on for my job?

lamar1981lamar1981 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a network administrator for a big company. I was wondering what certifications you thought would be helpful for me to have. I don't want to waste my time or money on unnecessary certifications. Here are the details: My company's servers are running win server2003. the client pcs run win xp pro. I was thinking of probably focusing on windows xp certification (70-270) and windows server 2003 certifications (70-290, 291 and 292) for now. after that i thought cisco certification would be good.

so please tell me what certification you think i should focus on

thanks in advance,
lamar1981 :)

Comments

• skeet2331skeet2331 Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Looks like a MCSE and CCNA would do you some good.
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    skeet2331 wrote:
    Looks like a MCSE and CCNA would do you some good.

+1. Then if you want to dive into the cisco world you can decide where you want to go from there. i.e. ccnp, ccda etc.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I tend to think of a network administrator as someone who deals with routers and switches and a system administrator as someone who deals with servers and clients.

It sounds like you should go for the MCSE. I'd plan on going all the way, and not stopping at the MCSA, which is what it looks like you're planning on with the exams you listed. Also, 292 was an upgrade from the 2000 MCSE and is no longer offered.

Welcome to the forums :D
  • lamar1981lamar1981 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote:
    I tend to think of a network administrator as someone who deals with routers and switches and a system administrator as someone who deals with servers and clients.